CHOOSING VETERINARY MEDICINE

My journey into vet medicine can best be described as destiny or divine arrangement. Though I resided in Northeast Nigeria where 80% of every household have at least one type of livestock with the royal families having horses and donkeys, it never occurred to me that I will one day have something to do with animals.

wp-image-696016689
Dr. Sunny Odeh

I can still remember how we usually troop to the streets with excitement to see the Emir’s entourage on their way to the praying ground to observe the Eid prayer riding on colourful decorated horses. Even as a kid growing up, we were used watching horse racing and polo tournament. It’s amazing to think that with all this exposure to animals, it never crossed my mind  who takes care of the animals when they got sick.

 

GETTING ADMITTED

wp-image-9960898

I was running a one year pre-degree or what other schools call remedial program in a federal university of technology at the time. I bought my JAMB form, completed my choice of school and course, and since there was provision for 2nd institution, to fufill all righteousness, I went through JAMB brochure for a suitable course. There, I came across Vet medicine, went for it and submitted my JAMB form. I was among the 21 candidates that were admitted to study vet that year through JAMB with 9 others coming through remedial class. Coincidentally, the 1st choice institution admission list came out shortly after I finished my registration and I was granted admission there too.

SCHOOL ACCOMMODATION

As a result of limited accommodation, I was not able to secure school accommodation in my first year. This was because I registered late. I had to make arrangements for accommodation off campus. By year two I moved to the school hostel.

FIRST YEAR

wp-image-1211787828

My only challenge was adapting to a new environment and it was not really easy at first staying off campus. This affected my first semester grades, but by second semester, I had fully acclimatized, which also reflected in my grades.

PRE – CLINICAL / PARA-CLINICAL

Pre-clinicals and Para-clinicals  include classes from 200level (D.V.M I) to 400level (D.V.M III). This is where the real Veterinary Medicine starts. Lectures commence every day from 8:00am to 5:00pm with lunch break from 1:00pm to 2:00pm.

Learning new courses like anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, etc is fun. Here, one starts learning new medical terms and starts feeling like a doctor-in-training.

wp-image-370669930

For me, life in this phase is what I can describe as a triangle, from hostel to class to church. I basically didn’t have time for anything outside vet. With the increasing work load, there’s always the fear of what we call shot gun, this is an unannounced test which the lecturer gives at will.

30 of us entered into this phase with many already discouraged because of the stories they heard and the  accompanying stress. As a result, some made moves to transfer to other departments.

I made up my mind to face any challenge ahead of me. I told myself that if others have gone through this I can as well, after all they don’t have two heads. I started studying over night, visiting the library during my spare time. I believe my little efforts paid off as I was able to scale through Pre clinicals with no problem.

In Para-clinicals, we step up to pathology, parasitology, pharmacology, microbiology. I seemed to enjoy microbiology and pharmacology more. Here, we start to learn about diseases and drugs and the whole medical thing starts looking real. How could I forget to include Public Health? A particular course (under Public Health) that almost ruined my vet career was Biostatistics but thank God!

CLINICAL YEARS

wp-image-220608024

Crossing the hurdles to clinical year is a major achievement in my school. Our clinic is located in town and crossing from campus to town is a major feat, clinical classes include 500level and 600level. Here, we were exposed to the real thing, offering courses like medicine, public health and preventive medicine, surgery and theriogenology. Prof Oyedipe made theriogenology class enjoyable for usa all with many of us having distinction in the course. I also had my final year project there under another wonderful lecturer named Dr Philip Dauda- who also serve as the head of department.

wp-image-215039651
Dr. Odeh and some classmates in Pathology  Clinic

Clinic was a bit less stressful, most especially 600 level. We were shared into six groups namely small animal clinic, large animal clinic, Avian clinic, Ambulatory/ public health, and laboratory.

MY FAVOURITE LECTURE STYLE 

I enjoyed lecturers that released their lecture materials ahead of time for us to study, so that when he/she comes, he/she explains and we ask questions.

LECTURERS

I’ve had the privilege of passing through many lecturers as a student. Some are even pioneers in their field(s). Notable among them are late Prof Erastus Gyang, former VC Federal University of Agriculture, Makurdia; late Prof Love day Nwosu; Prof Daniel Saror-former Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, and former VC ABU Zaria.

wp-image-1069051143
Dr.Odeh and Prof Daniel Saror – former Nigerian senator

 

BEST THING ABOUT VET SCHOOL

Vet school will always bring out the best in you.

FRIENDS

I met my first friend during registration, he later became my roommate off campus. Unfortunately, he died during one of the strikes while we are still in our first year. I still made some good friends most of which are my classmates.

LESSON LEARNT

My vet school experience taught me that hard work pays, and that one can achieve anything in life with the right motivation and determination.

wp-image-754463536
Dr. Odeh enlightening pupils of a primary school about the veterinary medicine profession

 

IS VET SCHOOL FOR EVERY ONE?

I don’t think so, not everyone has the desire to be a veterinarian.

MY CRITERIA FOR SUCCESS IN VET SCHOOL

Hard work

STUDY VET AGAIN

Yes

 

wp-image-1246745649MY LIFE AS A VET NOW

As a vet, I am into general practice, with special focus on small animal medicine ( dog and cat), poultry and fishery consultancy and treatment and large animal medicine ( cattle, sheep and goat).  I can say it is fulfilling, though I’ve not got to where I want to.

 

wp-image-1978432975Dr. Sunny Odeh is a graduate of the Federal University of Agriculture, Makurdi, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Class of 2013.

 

2 thoughts on “Dr. Odeh Shares His Vet School Experience in Makurdi

Leave a Reply

